Nana’s Red Earth Cake (super moist, super devour-able)

Nana’s Red Earth Cake (super moist, super devour-able)

One of my Nanas many recipes that people ask for is her Red Earth Cake.  I have been meaning to post it for awhile now.  I went home and made it with her about a year ago and took pictures but never set down to type it all up. My cousin Brooke (check her out she writes too) recently called and asked for it and since I text-ed it to her I figured I could take the opportunity to cut and past and add some pictures and finally get it on here. This recipe is precious to me and the time I got to spend with my Nana learning it is even more precious to me.  My Nana is in the beginning stages of Alzheimer’s and I have been trying to enjoy all the moments while I can along with learning and compiling her recipes.  It is one of the reasons this blog is a huge part of my heart and soul. Please enjoy this as much as our family has over the years.

titleIMG_8360

Red Earth Cake
Cake Ingredients:
½ cup shorting/Crisco
1 ½ cups sugar
2 eggs
3 Tablespoons cocoa
1 teaspoon red food color
3 tablespoons hot coffee
1 7/8 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup buttermilk
1 teaspoon vanilla

Icing Ingredients:
1/2 stick of oleo or butter
16 ounces or a box of powdered sugar, sifted
3 tablespoons cocoa
3 tablespoons hot coffee
1 teaspoon red food color
1 teaspoon vanilla

Cake Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Measure out the buttermilk first and pour it in a larger bowl and then pour in the baking soda and stir. It will increase in volume. Be sure to stir it well so that all baking soda dissolves. Set mixture aside.

Cream Crisco in mixer. Add sugar gradually and cream until fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time.

Mix cocoa, food color, and coffee in a small bowl to form a paste. Add to creamed mixture and beat until incorporated.

Add flour and salt mixture and then buttermilk mixture to the batter, beating to incorporate after each addition. Add the vanilla.

IMG_8308IMG_8309  IMG_8317IMG_8326

Bake in two 8 inch cake pans, with parchment or waxed paper liners at 350 for 30-40 minutes or until it separates slightly from the sides of the pan. Don’t over bake. Remove from oven and place on cooling rack and allow to cool completely.

Icing Directions:
Cream butter with sugar in mixer.

Make paste of coffee, cocoa, food color and vanilla and add to creamed mixture. If necessary, add more coffee until icing is of spreading consistency.

Ice the cake and between the layers… Devour as needed 🙂

IMG_8348IMG_8351IMG_8360

…….good luck it’s delicious!

About Beth Lanning

Im a scatterbrained dingbat but I have Ninja potential. This site is to catch all my scatterbrain in one place so it will be a pile of different things. The more I write the more I learn about the different piles of myself. I once thought it was all a ball of confusion and mess but I now see distinct areas taking shape. My Family, Writing, Cooking and Food, Art, Poetry, Fitness Life, Projects, Learning to Organize, Personal Growth and its really a catch all and you never know what you'll get but isn't that just the way life is? See my other site for me and my husbands journey to build a Tiny hOme!

Leave a comment

Open Hands Farm

Community Supported Agriculture

Lanning Adventures

Dedicated to adventures big and small from the kitchen to the road to all the marks life leaves on the soul.

I am the Pie Lady

recipes and how to make all things baked