RSS Feed

Perfect Pie Crust

First thing,  I just learned this about pie crust so before we get started I’m sharing it with you.  If you are cooking an empty pie shell you put the little fork marks in it to get the air all circulating, BUT if your cooking the shell with the filling in it like Pecan Pie you DONT put the fork marks in it.  Good to know  – right?  Ok so here is the best pie crust recipe that exists and I promise once you make a homemade pie crust you will never again buy one.  It cant be duplicated and will make or break any pie.   Also, another tip:  If you want it to turn out flaky (and you do) don’t kneed it much.  Don’t over work the dough! This is my Mawmaw Bobbie’s Recipe from my dad’s side of the family and it was given to her by her grandmother. Oh and guess what… its easy as pie to make 🙂 sorry I had to add that. Bake at 425 degrees till brown.

Add 1 Cup Flour to a bowl

Add 1/2 cup Crisco

You can use buttered baking sticks or the big fat regular can.  We used the sticks.

It should say “nice AND pretty” but you get the point

 ENJOY!!!

 

34 responses »

  1. So simple … great tips 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. OMG, I make pie crust the same way. Learned from a friends mother who lived in Oklahoma . This really is the best. Makes really Gr8 pie dough cookies too. This is the first time I’ve seen this recipe anywhere. What a nice surprise.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. The pie crusts always look so easy but I guess I seem to over work mine every time it’s very frustrating ,especially when I’m a great cook but can’t seem to get the crusts down I’ll try this recipe,any pointers?and what’s even hilarious I make faux pies and different things and they look so real,a God given talent,thank u

    Like

    Reply
  4. This is a great tutorial. Thank you so much for this!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Sounds wonderful esp with the butter in it.

    Like

    Reply
  6. I’m guessing it’s easy to use to tart shells as well? Would you have any suggestions for that?

    Like

    Reply
    • Depending on how flaky you like it you can add more or less Crisco. This is a fairly flakey crust already so maybe that will help you.

      Like

      Reply
  7. This is just like my grandmother’s recipe, except we don’t add salt. My grandmother’s name was Goldie Christmas.
    This is a really flakey crust. It’s the best.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. Your directions are excellent. I have always been intimated by pie crust and rolls. But with your step by step instructions with photos to! I hope to have homemade pies for Christmas this year. Thank you for sharing this gift of pie dough.
    CB

    Like

    Reply
  9. Thank you so much! This was the recipe my Mom taught me! Brought back so many memories! I shared your blog on my blog! I hope that is ok! If not, please let me know!

    Like

    Reply
  10. I give up on pie crust. I don’t know what I did wrong but it tore into pieces and I had to just put it in the pie plate in a bunch of pieces and try to pinch it together. Don’t know what it will taste like since I’m not making my pie til tomorrow. 😕

    Like

    Reply
  11. Super simple pie crust, came together quite easily

    Like

    Reply
  12. This is my favorite pie dough recipe. It was shared with me by a teacher’s aide several years ago. She called it her half-and-half recipe. One cup of flour for every crust, half that much Crisco, and half again that much water. I’ve never forgotten the proportions that way!

    Like

    Reply
    • Was just wondering about this- so, a two crust pie would be 2 C flour, 3/4 c Crisco and 1/4 c water plus 1/8 cup? Thanks!

      Like

      Reply
      • I have used this recipe for years. Not even tempted to try another recipe. If making a double recipe I add 2 C flour, 1C Crisco (or any shortening) 1t salt and 1/2 cup COLD water. Always 1/2 &1/2 with all ingredents. (I use 1/2 t of salt per 1C flour)

        Like

  13. Crisc9 what is Chris o. What is crisco

    Like

    Reply
  14. Easy to bake love your instructions!!

    Like

    Reply
  15. Kimberly Carruth

    This looks delicious! I came across your recipe on Pinterest. I have never made a pie crust before. I’m excited! I’m using it for a chicken pot pie. Question: Should I double the recipe so I can have some pastry left over to cover the top of the pie? I haven’t bought a pan yet but I assume it’ll be an 8 or 9 inch pan.

    Like

    Reply
  16. My mother taught me this recipe 50 years ago…it turns out wonderful every time…everyone wants to know my secret to making the perfect pie crust… you got it my friend…

    Like

    Reply
  17. This recipe is actually Dinah Shore’s recipe & I’ve been using it for 54 years. She gave this recipe on her tv show back then. Best & easiest pie crust recipe!! Even MY mother asked ME for the recipe! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  18. This is the same way my mom always makes her pie crust and it’s always so flaky and good

    Like

    Reply
  19. Thx can’t wait to see how this turns out

    Like

    Reply
  20. This is the first time I’ve seen my grandma’s pie crust recipe. This makes the absolute best crust. I never tell anybody what The recipe is and they always ask. I thought it was a secret Family recipe.

    Like

    Reply
  21. Can i freeze the crust and use at a later time?

    Like

    Reply
  22. Make sure you use ice water. It holds up better.

    Like

    Reply
  23. What is temp. of the water? And what is the temp. of the crisco? Is it just room temp?
    Thanks I can’t wait to try it. I’m a great baker but just can’t get a home crust down.

    Like

    Reply
  24. Is the crisco and the water cold?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Tiny House Adventures

simple living leads to grand adventures

Poems and Petals

Because poetry. And petals.

Marthatorpedo's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

