RSS Feed

Stress is a major downer!

Posted on

Stress is reeking havoc on my immune system.  Apparently getting married, moving, and changing jobs are three of the top five most stressful things on the stressful things list 🙂 The weird thing is my body knew I was under stress before I ever realized it.  I’m pretty much a go with the flow happy kinda girl for the most part so I really didn’t understand that I was under stress until my body started reacting to it.  I started literally getting sick. I had a fever blister break out on my lip and felt all together awful.  Like this: we were driving in the car looking for houses and I could literally feel myself starting to get sick.  Now Im usually the suck it up and stop your whining kinda girl but my body refused to listen to what my mind was telling it.  Very frustrating! So I started reading about this stuff and stress is a killer and attacks your body and I am actively working on finding some relaxation time to stop this crazy cycle of getting sick and feeling bad.  I took a bubble bath last night and I am making sure I am eating regularly and getting extra sleep.  I am mad that somehow this snuck up on me and I got stressed out without realizing it.  I read some jokes today and laughed because I’m pretty sure stress hates laughter so Im attacking it every chance I get.  Yoga classes next week and plenty of fluids.  Maybe some tea? I dont know.  ANYONE GOT ANY TIPS ON HOW TO BEAT STRESS WHEN YOU DIDN’T EVEN KNOW YOU HAD IT?? HELP!

About BethLanning

Im a scatterbrained dingbat but I have Ninja potential. This site is to catch all my scatterbrain in one place so it will be a pile of different things. The more I write the more I learn about the different piles of myself. I once thought it was all a ball of confusion and mess but I now see distinct areas taking shape. My Writing, Cooking and Food, Art, Poetry, Fitness Life, Projects, Learning to Organize, Personal Growth and its really a catch all and you never know what you'll get but isn't that just the way life is? See my other site for me and my husbands journey to build a Tiny hOme!

12 responses »

  1. I am not an expert on stress, but this remedy can stop a cold sore at the first sign of a tingle:
    http://howtostopcolds.wordpress.com/2012/11/18/stop-cold-sores-before-they-break-out/

    Like

    Reply
  2. Meditate, meditate, meditate! Here’s some guided meditations you can try for free. One of them is only 5 minutes long. Doing it once a day will make a huge difference! http://hrawakening.com/guided-meditations/

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. • Aromatherapy
    • Exercise (Exercise releases endorphins, and lowers cortisol levels. Higher cortisol levels results in more anxiety and stress.)
    • Acupuncture Therapy
    • Massage Therapy
    • Counseling
    • Psychiatry/Prescription Medications
    • A consistent sleep schedule with 8+ hours of sleep.
    • Himalayan Salt Lamps
    • Meditation (YouTube is a good source for guided meditation.)
    • Tea
    • Vitamins and Supplements ( http://www.webmd.com/vitamins-supplements/condition-1001-anxiety.aspx )
    • Anti-Stress Adult Coloring Books ( https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/1937994775/ref=mp_s_a_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1470911942&sr=8-6&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_QL65&keywords=stress+coloring+book&dpPl=1&dpID=61cuCZZz4WL&ref=plSrch )

    The best course of action would be to meet with your doctor. Sometimes anxiety and/or stress can be the result of internal factors that individuals aren’t always aware of. A doctor would be able to refer you to a psychiatrist for further care. I also recommend seeing a clinical psychologist and undergoing a thorough psychological evaluation (assessment) if possible. Stress and anxiety can be the result of environmental factors, genetic factors, or both. I hope some of the above methods help, and that you feel better!

    Source: Psychology (B.S.) Major and Intern

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Maybe talk with someone, could be anyone you love, could be a healthcoach, could be your journal. Sometimes, when you write about you, yourself, your events during the day, when you describe everything on the paper, is like emptying your soul from any burden. At the end of the writing, you might realise that pressure went away, you can breathe easier, you feel lighter. And, after that, you can go back to read what you wrote and analyze it. You might be surprised. Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. I am a therapist in MO and have a podcast called Mindful Recovery. I lecture all about the emotional brain and love the graphic. May I ask where you got it? I would like to get the rights to use it in some of my work.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. This also happens to me ! My best advice is make sure you eat! Nutrition is very important in keeping yourself strong . Whenever I’m stressed, busy, I seem to not eat or if I just limit my intake a healthy nutrients I see the way it effected me! I’m 66 now and I can’t believe as I look back over the years how stress has taken the joy out of the big events in my life ! Leading up to them I ignored myself, it truly showed! Have healthy nutritious shakes at least if you don’t think you’re eating right! A yummy hamburger will also help! Take B vitamins keep doing your yoga and see a professional if need be! Good luck & enjoy your life!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Lysine amino acid for fever blisters exercise for stress and yoga breathing and smile

    Like

    Reply
  8. Yes I have that same problem still trying to find more ways to deal with stress, but what works for me is mindfulness meditation, essential oils like mint, lavender and tea tree, running or walking oldly but true getting my hair washed with mint shampoo. Praying and reading as well.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Tiny House Adventures

simple living leads to grand adventures

Poems and Petals

Because poetry. And petals.

Marthatorpedo's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

