RSS Feed

Emma’s sign

Dear Emma
I’m your cousin. I don’t know you but I love you. I dreamed about you before we knew you were coming and I know your special and amazing. I grew up with your grandma Jamie and even though you don’t know him your great grandfather Gary Soileau. He was an amazing man. His dad and my dad traveled all over the United States with Jamie and Jason and me. So I already know your amazing because I know where you come from. Here are my steps in making your sign. It took much longer than I wanted because I had to end up planning a wedding around the time I got started.

* I used a recycled pallet for this project and just cut right through the nails.

20130418-231414.jpg

Pain any color you want. I used pink.

20130418-231547.jpg
Next I printed out the letters for “Emma” centered them on the board and traced them really hard with a capped sharpie so it made and indention in the wood of the letters
20130418-231946.jpg
Then I removed the paper letters and filled them in with a black paint pen.

20130418-232224.jpg
I used a little sandpaper and dulled it out in places by rubbing on it lightly. The next step took the longest.
Picking out the door pulls I wanted. I wanted to put drawer pulls on it so they could hang clothes. I ended up getting some from hobby lobby that I though went pretty well but the selection was a little overwhelming and made or hard to decide. Since they are supposed to be drawer pulls you will have to drill a hole where you want them, but after that you just thread a screw on the back to make it secure.

20130418-232831.jpg

20130418-232919.jpg
I put two at the top to use to tie ribbon on and hang it.

20130418-233025.jpg
And finally it’s done!

20130418-233149.jpg
Hope you enjoy it Emma!

About BethLanning

Im a scatterbrained dingbat but I have Ninja potential. This site is to catch all my scatterbrain in one place so it will be a pile of different things. The more I write the more I learn about the different piles of myself. I once thought it was all a ball of confusion and mess but I now see distinct areas taking shape. My Writing, Cooking and Food, Art, Poetry, Fitness Life, Projects, Learning to Organize, Personal Growth and its really a catch all and you never know what you'll get but isn't that just the way life is? See my other site for me and my husbands journey to build a Tiny hOme!

Leave a Reply

Tiny House Adventures

simple living leads to grand adventures

Poems and Petals

Because poetry. And petals.

Marthatorpedo's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

