RSS Feed

Getting hitched in a barn

20130415-152345.jpg
So yep I’m getting married in a barn. I know barn weddings are kinda something people are doing these days but this one isn’t some old barn we are renting. It’s on my family’s farm. That’s been in our family since the civil war and its a hay barn my Great grandfather built. My pop kept this as a working farm at one time but now it just has family living out here. I don’t know why I never do things the easy way but I decided I wanted my wedding in that barn and it has been a heck load of stress and work. BUT it’s finally coming together and today I stepped back and took this picture and almost started crying. It’s exactly how I imagined it… Almost. It’s not done yet but I can see hope. I always take the hardest way possible in everything but this is such a treasure to me. One of my best memories as a child was that barn stacked full of hay and jumping from bail to bail until I collapsed from exhaustion on top of a stack of hay. I bet my Pop never would have imagined chandeliers and a dance floor. I love this land so much it brings tears to my eyes and I know I love it because I can feel my ancestors hovering here. I have fallen down on my knees many times on this land and marveled at the beauty of God. How it almost seems he is running his hand over the red tops of the clover at times when the wind catches them just right. I know God is in this land and this barn as much or more than any church I have ever entered. I know in my heart it’s the only place I would ever want to pledge my life to a man before my God and my family. It’s as much a part of me as my hand or head or heart. I wish I had a before picture and will try to find one and post it but here is one with it half way done. I just wish it was scratch and sniff and you could smell the fresh hay and sweet budding clover to make the picture complete. This time next Saturday it will be all finished and ready for a wedding. Eeeekkkkkk, I’m very excited!

About BethLanning

Im a scatterbrained dingbat but I have Ninja potential. This site is to catch all my scatterbrain in one place so it will be a pile of different things. The more I write the more I learn about the different piles of myself. I once thought it was all a ball of confusion and mess but I now see distinct areas taking shape. My Writing, Cooking and Food, Art, Poetry, Fitness Life, Projects, Learning to Organize, Personal Growth and its really a catch all and you never know what you'll get but isn't that just the way life is? See my other site for me and my husbands journey to build a Tiny hOme!

Leave a Reply

Tiny House Adventures

simple living leads to grand adventures

Poems and Petals

Because poetry. And petals.

Marthatorpedo's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

