RSS Feed

Always: Sauté onions and garlic before adding to crock pot dishes

Well crap, here is something I just learned. I have really been having great luck with cooking lately but after making a big crockpot full of food it just tasted weird. I thought it might be because the crock pot was new and maybe that was some of it but i got to digging around a bit and found out you can’t just throw raw onions and garlic in a crock pot, you have to sauté them first to avoid getting this funny flat weird twangy taste that’s not really describable. It the science of how they react to slow cooking. I don’t know how to explain to you all the science stuff I read but I can tell you I have whole pot of food that taste weird and strange and just not right. Don’t let this happen to you! My poor husband to be just ate it anyways and said it wasn’t that bad. How very kind of him because its pretty bad. If anyone knows more about this strange little phenomenon that happens in crock pots I would be interested to learn if there are other things I just shouldn’t cook in a crock pot or put raw in one.
Link to the article I found about weird tastes in crock pots

About BethLanning

Im a scatterbrained dingbat but I have Ninja potential. This site is to catch all my scatterbrain in one place so it will be a pile of different things. The more I write the more I learn about the different piles of myself. I once thought it was all a ball of confusion and mess but I now see distinct areas taking shape. My Writing, Cooking and Food, Art, Poetry, Fitness Life, Projects, Learning to Organize, Personal Growth and its really a catch all and you never know what you'll get but isn't that just the way life is? See my other site for me and my husbands journey to build a Tiny hOme!

7 responses »

  1. And never never never saute garlic using stainless steel utensils or cookware. It will destroy or greatly lesson the aroma and flavor of the garlic. However, you can use stainless steel to rid your hands immediately from the garlic aroma. ;).

    Like

    Reply
    • What?! oh my gosh thank you so much I didn’t know this!

      Like

      Reply
      • The next time you get fresh garlic on your hands, turn on the water and take anything stainless steel and rub your finger on it a few times under the water and be amazed how the garlic odor vanishes immediately. Cooking it with stainless will do the same thing. 😉

        Like

      • Oh my this is exactly the kind of thing that I need to learn about cooking. I’m clueless about stuff like this. You have no idea how much I appreciate tips like this!

        Like

      • You.re very welcome besoil.

        Like

      • Jerry I re-made the stew and used the tip you gave me about getting the smell of garlic off my hands with stainless steel and also left a link to your blog. Thanks you it was so much better this time around and my hands smell delightful.

        Like

      • I no cook/chef but I’ve been around the kitchen a few times in my life. Happy you found it helpful. I may be posting a no knead bread recipe soon.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Tiny House Adventures

simple living leads to grand adventures

Poems and Petals

Because poetry. And petals.

Marthatorpedo's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

