RSS Feed

Chair & Bar stool makeover with “Chevron Print” fabric – easy & fast (Don’t you just love Before & After pictures)

before&after

Don’t you just love Before and After Pictures?  I Do.

When I should have been sleeping, I couldn’t. So I decided to get up and read and yes somehow that led to me reupholstering a chair. Here’s a little bit how my scatterbrain works then I’m going to show you step by step how to recover a cheap dining room table chair and make it look fancy and awesome.  I walked into the living room, laid my book down on a chair to pick up a cup I saw sitting in the bar and 45 min later come back to the book sitting on the chair to finally read. Then I remember I have been wanting to recover this chair and I figure what the heck,  I’m up. 1 Hour later I still haven’t opened that book but I have a pretty new chair and it was super easy.

HERE IS WHAT “YA” NEED:

fabric

scissors – (dont run around with them)

screwdriver – (for taking the seat off the top)

stapler – I used a regular swing-line stapler because its all I had – I’m sure there is some fancy thing that cost 30 dollars you can buy if you were so inclined, I was not and am not inclined to do so. The swing-line worked fine.

Two Notes:

*honestly it took me longer to track all this stuff down than it did to do the actual project.

*I was worried about the corners and having little puckers in the them but as long as you pull tight and staple quick its really easy to get a clean smooth corner with no pucker.  You’ll see.

1. Start by taking off the seat of the chair you are working on.  Mine are table bar stools and pretty cheap so they just had three little screws holding them in.  *Scatterbrain dingbat alert *   Put all the screws and the screwdriver in one place and all together, like a ziplock bag so you dont spend an hour on your belly running your hand over the carpet looking for one screw you lost – just say’in 🙂

BLOG FOOD 476

2. Lay your new material over the top of the bar stool and cut it out a little larger – remember you can always trim it as you go if needed so error on the side of more is better

*No need to rip the old fabric off, we are laying our fabric right on top because we are lazy like that.

BLOG FOOD 479

3.  Now all you do is pull and staple. Pull and staple.  Pull and staple.  Make sure its tight but not to the point where it changes the shape of the cushion.  I started from the front and worked to the back.                                                                                                                                                       ~Ok lets talk about those corners. I started at the front and smoothed the top of the fabric out with my hand and then stapled it all along the front.  When I got to the side I just kept pulling the fabric till it was smooth.  It made a small fold and I kept pulling it and stapling it till it was almost gone.  Here is a picture of my corner.

BLOG FOOD 480

Now from above after I’m done. (picture below)

BLOG FOOD 487

… and the underneath

BLOG FOOD 482…and now put the top back on the stool (hopefully you can find that Ziplock bag)

BLOG FOOD 488

And enjoy your new, updated super cool, all the rage, Chevron print chairs!

Note * I did two in this Blue color and two in Orange … you know just to keep it spicy.  At any rate they look so much better than before and took no time at all.  Good luck!

About BethLanning

Im a scatterbrained dingbat but I have Ninja potential. This site is to catch all my scatterbrain in one place so it will be a pile of different things. The more I write the more I learn about the different piles of myself. I once thought it was all a ball of confusion and mess but I now see distinct areas taking shape. My Writing, Cooking and Food, Art, Poetry, Fitness Life, Projects, Learning to Organize, Personal Growth and its really a catch all and you never know what you'll get but isn't that just the way life is? See my other site for me and my husbands journey to build a Tiny hOme!

7 responses »

  1. That’s brilliant. I’ve been thinking about getting my dining room chairs recovered, but perhaps I can do it myself. Your chairs look great!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Pingback: And Now For Something Completely Different | Life with Becky

  3. Hi
    I am thinking about taking pro hormones,
    do you think this is good idea for advanced bodybuilder like me?
    People are satisfied with the results after
    prohormones cycles, just google for – 100% pure muscles without side effects – worth a try?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Tiny House Adventures

simple living leads to grand adventures

Poems and Petals

Because poetry. And petals.

Marthatorpedo's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

