RSS Feed

Oil on canvas, any advice? Help please

I hate to even post this it’s so far from being done its embarrassing but I’m hoping I can get a little advice that can help me. The picture I’m posting is an oil on canvas, it’s only my second attempt at oil painting so ANY advice is helpful. I’m self taught and just paint by eye so I started this at Big Bend National park last week when we were there. I basically just laid in a bunch of the big details and colors as a starting point and that’s it. What you see below is what I did the first day. I want to go in and add details to the mountain at the right side and in the valley and as you come forward there was a line of trees and then up close in the right hand corner a cactus with high detail and part of a rock. I don’t know where to start on the detail and I want to build some thickness to it. Any help? Suggestions? I basically know nothing and I’m just doing it so even mediums or blending advice would help. Thanks!

20130209-123505.jpg

About BethLanning

Im a scatterbrained dingbat but I have Ninja potential. This site is to catch all my scatterbrain in one place so it will be a pile of different things. The more I write the more I learn about the different piles of myself. I once thought it was all a ball of confusion and mess but I now see distinct areas taking shape. My Writing, Cooking and Food, Art, Poetry, Fitness Life, Projects, Learning to Organize, Personal Growth and its really a catch all and you never know what you'll get but isn't that just the way life is? See my other site for me and my husbands journey to build a Tiny hOme!

6 responses »

  1. Sir Francis Drake

    Hey, I know you’ve probably tried looking it up already but even these simple tips help me a lot… I’m a beginner too, in England (haven’t even got my own blog to post anything yet), but especially if you take some time to paint these tips help 🙂 http://painting.about.com/cs/oils/a/tips_oils.htm

    Like

    Reply
  2. I have painted a few pieces of art, but I don’t think I would be the right person to offer advice, but this man may be of help to you http://benjaminprewitt.com/ He is very friendly and kind, communicates well with everyone, so perhaps you could ask his advice. He definitely has texture to his paintings! And thank you for visiting my blog!
    Suzy 😀

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Tiny House Adventures

simple living leads to grand adventures

Poems and Petals

Because poetry. And petals.

Marthatorpedo's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

